image for Outdoor Event item typeHorse and transplanter tours at Royal Botanic Gardens Kew

Royal Botanic Gardens Kew

Royal Botanic Gardens Kew

Outdoor Event, Thu 27 - Sun 30 Oct 2016


Kew Gardens

020 8332 5655



Also at this Venue

Events at this Venue

date event
Sat 2 Jul - Sun 30 Oct Bee films
Wed 17 Sep - Sun 5 Mar Flora Japonica exhibition
Fri 1 Jul - Fri 28 Oct Meet Kew's Experts: bees
Sat 18 Jun - Fri 23 Dec Pollination Trail
Sat 23 Jul - Fri 23 Dec Pollination Trail
Fri 24 Oct - Tue 1 Nov Save Kew's spices from The Great Spice Heist!


The horse and transplanter tours will set off from outside the Nash Conservatory
Come and see the oldest surviving tree transplanter in the world in action here at Kew. Capability re-landscaped gardens using the horse-powered tree transplanter, which was used to uproot trees of up to 20m tall and transport them as far as 32km at a time.
Visitors will have the opportunity to look back to the Georgian period and discover Capability Brown’s revolutionary gardening techniques.
There will be a Capability Brown actor accompanied by his workers and a bell crier for good measure.

Coach parties acceptedDisabled accessDisabled toiletsFacilities for groupsFacilities for educational visitsGift shopOn-site cateringOn-site light refreshmentsPostboxPublic toiletsWheelchairs available

Event details

Dates Times
Thu 27 - Sun 30 Oct 2016
Thursday 27 October: 10.30am, 11.45am, 1pm and 2.15pm
Friday 28 October: 10.30am, 1pm and 2.15pm
Saturday 29 and Sunday 30 October: 10.30am, 11.45am and 1.45pm


See website for details



See location of Royal Botanic Gardens Kew on Google mapsSee location on Google maps

Map reference: TQ 187773  Lat: 51.48254 Long: -0.29120

Public transport is very convenient and there is limited parking. Victoria Gate, the principal gate, is on Kew Road (A307) and is a 7 minute walk from Kew Gardens Station.
Tube : Kew Gardens
Train : Kew Gardens and Kew Bridge
Bus: 65, 237, 267, 391
Car:Coming from the south or west on the A316 or M3 motorway (which becomes the A316) turn left at the Richmond roundabout onto Kew Road (A307). You will see the Pagoda to your left - park in a permitted place, alongside the Gardens, on Kew Road.
For further information visit

Parking: with charge


  • Coach parties acceptedCoach parties accepted
  • Disabled accessDisabled access
  • Disabled toiletsDisabled toilets
  • Facilities for groupsFacilities for groups
  • Facilities for educational visitsFacilities for educational visits
  • Gift shopGift shop
  • On-site cateringOn-site catering
  • On-site light refreshmentsOn-site light refreshments
  • PostboxPostbox
  • Public toiletsPublic toilets
  • Wheelchairs availableWheelchairs available